NEBOSH National General Certificate

NEBOSH National General Certificate in Occupational Health & Safety

The National General Certificate is the most widely held health and safety qualification in the UK with over 100,000 people having gained the award since it was launched in 1989.

Duration & next course dates

Duration: (over 10 consecutive Wednesday’s )

Course starts on the 12th January 24 for 10 consecutive Wednesday's at Zenith Learning and open book exam date is 10th April 24

ENROLL NOW - Call Zenith on 28 71 361696 or email

Who should attend:

Managers, supervisors and staff from all types of organisations who need a broad understanding of health and safety issues. The certificate helps them manage risks effectively and gives them a good foundation in Health & Safety. Many people take the NEBOSH National General.  Many people take the NEBOSH National General Certificate in Occupational Health and Safety (NGC) as a first step in a career in health and safety. It gives a valuable overview, and is a sound basis for further professional study

Course Syllabus

The qualification is divided into Two units, each of which is assessed separately:

  • Management of Health and Safety (NG1)
  • Risk Assessment (NG2)

Element Summary 

Element 1. Why we should manage workplace health and safety
Element 2. How health and safety management systems works and what they look like
Element 3. Managing risk - understanding people and processes
Element 4. Health and safety monitoring and measuring
Element 5. Physical and psychological health
Element 6. Musculoskeletal health
Element 7. Chemical and biological agents
Element 8. General workplace issues
Element 9. Work equipment
Element 10. Fire
Element 11. Electricity


Open book examination (OBE) (NG1)

Practical assessment (NG2)

Awarding Body:

NEBOSH (National Examination Board in Occupational Safety & Health)

Achieving the qualification

The NGC has two unit assessments; you must achieve a 'Pass' in each unit to be awarded the qualification.

Got a question: